The Return

The World through russian eyes

“Beautiful Far Away” or The World of Lost Innocence

with one comment

Do you believe in true love? Do you think it is OK to have a FTF (Friends That Fuck) relationship? Is that OK for 11 year old child to know about sex while they still have no idea about love? What about having a baby at the age of 50+? Do you think it is a sign of progress? I don’t. Some say, it is the price that we need to pay for our freedom. I don’t think so. This is not about freedom, it is about values, and I don’t think the price like that would be worth paying anyway. What is the point of having comfort if you no longer care for having kids? What is the point of working if the only goal is to get a new house or a boat, a new Video Card or a new TV?  

I believe in ideals! One needs to know what he is living for, needs to know why sometimes you need to sacrifice, why it is really not a big deal if you don’t have Lexus… But above all I believe in love, true pure untainted love.  And I think, some things in this world matter more than my personal happiness.

I want my kids to believe this too. I don’t want them to grow into “consumers” happily buying “completely new and super advanced toothpaste with extra shiny bits that make you teeth whiter than white”. I want them to feel the moments of heartbreaking sadness from seeing something beautiful and pure…  I want them to go walking in autumn park with the feeling of bittersweet sadness from the sight of peacefull fading that surrounds them.  I want them to cry at the last pages of the “Lord of the Ring” from the realization of the loss that the world will never be able to recover…

I want them to have a true romantic experience? I want them to love so deep and pure that sex would only come as an underlying current, never overshadowing the deep magical feeling that drives you. And I want them to believe. It doesn’t have to be God (I am not very religious myself) but a person needs to believe in something for life to have any meaning. 

Do you know what I am talking about? Perhaps you also like lonely walks in autumn parks…🙂 You might, but it feels to me that majority of people in the Western world have long forgotten what is it like, to really believe in ideals. There are no IDEALS there are only needs spoon fed to you through media from early childhood. Big and small they drive people through life from craddle to grave.

And I think Russia, blindly copying everything from the West, is loosing them too😦. I hope we as a nation will be able to stop and recover the things that are lost. Getting back family values, patriotism and finding new ideals to live and fight for. I think we still have a chance, not so sure about the rest of Europe. If not, well, I guess we’ll all go down together under the pressure from nations more passionate about their purpose and ready to do sacrifices. Do you want it? I don’t!

I want to end this post with a song from the most important movie of my childhood. The story is about a girl from the 21st century🙂 who ends up in 1980 pursued by two space pirate who are trying to get hands on a telepathic device invented by her dad. With help of local kids she manages to save the device and get back into the future. It sounds kind of silly, but there is so much goodness in this movie that I just can’t find anything that would match it. Every time there is a hard choice that I need to make in my life, every time I feel down, I listen to this song, cry and feel stronger again.  This is the kind of stuff I want my kids to watch, not Hannah Montana, American Pie or that crap that they show worldwide on Cartoon Network!

Beautiful far away

I hear the voice from a beautiful far away,

The voice clear as a spring silver dew

I hear the voice and the road is calling

Spinning my head as a carousels

 

Beautiful far away,

Don’t be cruel to me,

Don’t be cruel to me,

Cruel to me!

From pure beginnings

Into the beautiful far away

Into the beautiful far away

I start on my path.

 

I hear the voice from a beautiful far away,

Telling me of beautiful places

I hear the voice and it is asking me

What have I done today to make a better tomorrow?

 

Beautiful far away,

Don’t be cruel to me,

Don’t be cruel to me,

Cruel to me!

From pure beginnings

Into the beautiful far away

Into the beautiful far away

I start on my path.

 

I swear to be better and more kind

An will never leave a friend in need

I hear the voice and hurry to follow the call

Along the road that has no footprints.

 

Not sure if my translation is adequate. The song is about standing strong by your ideals, not being afraid of the future and doing something to make it better. Perhaps it may sound like “commie brainwashing” but if so, I am ready to be brainwashed any time.

Written by severyanin

September 11, 2008 at 11:11 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Of course there are always normal people everywhere. People who would ban teaching of creationim at school and those who would not not accept that having violent video games is a norm. And this is exactly my point. It is normal to cenzor things for kids. What is not natural is for kids at the age of 10 to start using such words as “fuck” in their everyday language, assume that all muslims are terrorists and start believing that there is only dirt in this world. At this point i would like to point you to the other post of mine that discusses this in greater details https://simplexveri.wordpress.com/2008/09/11/beautiful-far-away-or-the-world-of-lost-innocence/ […]


Leave a Reply

